Small coil pot – give it a go!

Here is my latest coil pot. If you haven’t tried this before, give it a go!

You can either roll the coils out by hand (or if you are really serious you can get a coil extruder, which I would love to buy in my next life) or get a tool that has a loop on the end and push the tool through a slab of clay which provides you with the coil. I used another small bowl to help provide the shape. Pop some plastic in your mould bowl so your coils do not stick to the mould bowl. When layering your coils inside your mould bowl ensure you apply a little water between the coils to help the clay join. Then smooth over a little on the inside (this leaves the coil look on the outside of your new bowl). This example is stoneware fired. I have no idea what the glazes are as I applied a bunch of different left over glazes lying around. Very slack I know!

Don’t make it look perfect. Perfection is really quite boring and predictable I say! What do you think?

Coil pot by Row

Coil pot by Row

 

11 thoughts on “Small coil pot – give it a go!

    • Oh thank you. I was just admiring your latest quilt and setting for your photograph. Im terrible at photography. Something I need to work on when taking photos of my pots.
      See you around.
      Row

  1. Lovel it! I’ve become a great enthusiast for coiling with all its delightful irregularity. Btw, I made an extruder from some 4″ plastic drainpipe, with dies made from bottoms of scrap aluminium saucepans. It’s been in use for about 15 years now. It cost nuppence – I can send you more detail if you’re interested.

    • Hey Pete. That is really interesting. Could you email me more info? If yes email to rowena@rowenamaxwell.com.
      I can not justify spending much on a new coil extruder so if I can make something that would be great. Alternatively instead of emailing me the info you could put up a post on your blog about it. I am sure other potters would find it helpful to.
      Thanks
      Row

  2. I can´t agree more with what you´ve said: perfection is quite boring, especially when it comes to art and creativity!:) And I love the glaze (my mother who does pottery as well – and so much better than me! – does this trick with left over glazes as well. It almost always shows the most amazing results!).

    • Hi, Thanks. Yeah, sometimes mixing left over glazes works a treat, then sometimes it isn’t so good, but that is the gamble isn’t? Once again the unpredictable element makes it fun and sometimes frustrating! Hey my favourite ceramic piece of yours is your Red Poppy Flower bowl. That is simply delightful. And your artwork is wonderful, reminding me of some of the great masters I studied at school too long ago! See you around.
      Row

      • Hi! That is high praise, indeed – thank you kindly!!!
        I greatly admire many of the old masters and would simply be overjoyed, if I could achieve just a tiny bit of their skilfullness in the coming years:)
        And you´re right again, sometimes mixing those left overs doesn´t work at all – but it´s a lot of fun all the same and one can always choose some darker glazes to cover up the mistakes;)
        I very much admire your skills and love the style of your works! I would also love to work with a potter´s wheel, but realized very soon after trying it once, that you need a lot of strenght to do it (afterwards my arms and hands were sore for days!). As is often the case – it looks so easy when observing an expert doing it, but of course, it´s anything but:)
        Looking very much forward to more posts from you!

Leave a Reply

