Husband’s Lancaster Bomber Model Project!

My husband loves to make model airplanes (which I think is really cute, seeing a huge 6 foot 4 inches guy putting together these tiny parts). Given that we had nowhere to display his plethora of planes he decided to make a display coffee table that he could put his planes in. I couldn’t believe it….he had never made a piece of furniture in his life. He’s not the handy-man type of guy to say the least (and I’m ok with that) so I was really impressed that he did his research and made this display coffee table completely by himself. He even painted it as well, applied some stencils and put the box on wheels so its easy to move around.

Lancaster bomber 1/32 scale model Hachette - made by Brian

Lancaster bomber 1/32 scale model Hachette – made by Brian

Aeroplane display coffee table made by Brian

Aeroplane display coffee table made by Brian

The Lancaster Bomber is the latest and largest model that he has built. This one took him 2 years to complete. It was a mail order subscription of 125 issues and is made from aluminium, steel and wooden parts. Brian tells me that it is made to the same specification as the real Lancaster Bomber. He also painted the bomber. Dale my brother took the photo below.

Lancaster bomber 1/32 scale model Hachette - made by Brian - Photo by Dale Harper

Lancaster bomber 1/32 scale model Hachette – made by Brian – Photo by Dale Harper

 

6 thoughts on “Husband’s Lancaster Bomber Model Project!

    • hi there. Yeah, I have to keep him busy some how. He continually surprises me. I wonder why he can’t have the same attention to detail when he washes the dishes though….quite baffling.
      Row

  1. I love it!!! That is amazing my husband also builds war bird airplane models. That is a deal we have when we travel I can go to any clay shop I want as long as I am willing to go to any airport museum or model shop with him. It is a win win situation for me. I always spend more than he does.
    I like that idea of a way to show them off. I think he will like that too. Thanks!! Janet

Leave a Reply

