Using Underglazes on Clay with Plastic Lace to Create Patterns

Below is a simple and fun way to use plastic lace with an underglaze to create some cool patterns on clay.

Buy clay and underglazes

Buy clay and underglazes

Making the lace impression on the clay

Making the lace impression on the clay

Pain on the underglaze

Pain on the underglaze

Take off the plastic lace

Take off the plastic lace

Cut out shapes

Cut out shapes

Fire, apply clear glaze and fire again

Fire, apply clear glaze and fire again

 

16 thoughts on “Using Underglazes on Clay with Plastic Lace to Create Patterns

  1. Thanks for the step-by-step tut Rowena. Hot Tamale is one of my favourite Mayco glazes. I don’t know the brand at the right.
    I have bought a plastic lace 1.5 years back and after I had seen your beautiful black lace print bowls (or were those plates?) I wanted to make lace prints too.
    Now with this tutorial I should have a go at it… soon.
    Have an awesome weekend. Best Wishes from up North, Netherlands

    • Hi, thanks. Yes they were white bowls with black underglaze. That was using a different technique to this one. This one allows you to get the colour onto the raised clay whereas those white bowls I used actual lace rather than plastic lace….I applied the glaze after taking off the lace so the glaze went into the crevices and then wiped back the colour on surface. So it all depends on whether you want the colour on the top surface or in the crevices as this will dictate with approach to use. I find it best to use plastic lace if I want the colour on the top surface, but real lace if I want the colour in the crevices. Have I confused you? Anyway, its all experimental and fun.
      Row

  2. I find that applying the glaze before bisque firing gives a much richer, true to color result.
    My instructor says it invites blow ups in the kiln during the firing. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

