Using ‘Oil Pastel’ Effect on Samsung Galaxy S4 Phone Camera

I am still experimenting with the different effects available in my Samsung Galaxy S4 Phone Camera.

For this photo of Louise (my sister), I applied the ‘Oil Pastel’ effect, one of my favourites!

Photo of Louise (using 'Oil Pastel' effect on Samsung Galaxy S4 Phone camera

Photo of Louise (using ‘Oil Pastel’ effect on Samsung Galaxy S4 Phone camera)

For the photo below I am using ‘No effect’.

Photo of Louise (using 'No Effect'

Photo of Louise my sister  (using ‘No Effect’ on Samsung Galaxy S4 Phone Camera)

However, I also like the ‘Cartoon’ effect as shown below.

Photo of kids on train (using 'Cartoon' effect)

Photo of kids on train (using ‘Cartoon’ effect)

Photo using ‘No Effect’.

Using 'No Effect'

Using ‘No Effect’

But…I also like using the ‘Vintage’ effect. Hey, I can see Grandma in the background!

Using 'Vintage' effect

Using ‘Vintage’ effect

9 thoughts on “Using ‘Oil Pastel’ Effect on Samsung Galaxy S4 Phone Camera

    • Coincidence. I was just browsing your blogroll. I know Barbara Chadwick. I met her in a shop I used to teach pottery in. I also have one or two of her pieces. A house and a tea pot 🙂 They’re beautiful. I also wanted to say that your mum’s paintings are wonderful.
      Have a great day Rowena, to you and your family 🙂

    • Well…it depends! It is a 13 megapixel camera which is pretty damn good. This means I don’t have to carry with me my other camera. If you Google ‘best phone cameras’, you will find some reviews. Also has a bigger screen so that I can read texts without my reading glasses!
      Row

  1. two questions, maybe you can email me a response since I wont know how to get back here. pyro511@hotmail.com. One is my Galaxy S4 doesn’t seem to have the “oil pastel” feature. It has “vintage” and “cartoon” but I cannot find “oil pastel”. Secondly, my mom has the S3 and she can pick a style and then use her finger to swipe back and forth to change the pic’s image from regular to one of these features such as cartoon, vintage, etc. I can’t figure out how to swipe to change the image on my S4. It seems as if I can just select and change. Can you answer these two questions?

    • Hi Chris, Row here from Row’s Pottery Shed blog. ( I have emailed you with the information below as well) You left a couple of questions on my blog about not being able to find the ‘Oil Pastel’ effect etc
      The way I have been taking photos is by 1) select your camera icon from your phone home screen, 2) then I have on the left hand side of my screen about half way down there is a ‘>’ arrow 3) press the ‘>’ arrow and on the left hand side of my screen I have the following effects in order starting from the top No effect, Vignette, Grey-scale, Sepia, Vintage, Faded colour, (you have to scroll down to see more effects), Turquoise, Tint, Cartoon, Moody, Rugged, Oil pastel and lastly Fisheye. 4) select one of these effects 5) take your photo.
      So that is how I do it on my phone, I don’t know of any other ways…still learning…but I have no photography skills and no time to learn indepth photography skills, so I really like this cause it seems so easy. I am not sure why you can’t see ‘Oil pastel’ in one of your effects…curious…

      Regarding your 2nd question….I have just had a look at this…I think I know how to do it…1)go to your photo gallery and select a photo 2) next to the delete rubbish bin icon at the top of the screen there is another icon that looks like a box with something coming out of it…select this icon 3) now down the bottom of the screen on the right hand side is an icon called ‘Effect’, press this and then you will see the different effects display at the bottom
      However, when I look at the ‘Effect’ options now available I can’t see ‘Oil pastel’ as an option, however I can some other options that I don’t see when I use the first approach mentioned above. Weird, not sure why this would happen like this. But I am very glad you sent me these 2 questions as I have learnt something new about the S4 and now have more effect options that I didn’t realise I had. Many thanks!

      Be good to hear how you go.
      Thanks
      Row

  2. I can’t find what you are talking about question #2. I select a picture but can’t find the “next to the delete rubbish bin icon at the top of the screen there is another icon that looks like a box with something coming out of it…select this icon 3) now down the bottom of the screen on the right hand side is an icon called ‘Effect’, press this and then you will see the different effects display at the bottom”

    • Hi
      Thanks for visiting and posting your question. I just had a look at my phone and for some reason the rubbish bin icon is no longer there when I select a photo. I’ve done something to the settings…..
      Anyway, so not surprised that when you select a photo you can’t see a rubbish bin icon either. But when I go to my gallery and select a photo in the top right hand corner I see that icon of a square with something coming out of it…select this icon and them down on the bottom right hand corner there is an icon called ‘Effect’, press this and then you will see the different effects display at the bottom. Hope this helps.
      Row

Leave a Reply

