How to make your own Backyard Fire Pit for $4

My handyman impaired husband surprised me yesterday (he’s a computer guy… that’s all I’ll say) by Googling ‘how to make your own firepit’. He was soooo excited to find a ‘handyman’ job that he could actually do! I have never EVER seen him so excited about a ‘handyman’ job for our house like this before. He dragged me up to our local recycling tip at Kimbriki to get some bricks, which cost $4. I’m telling you now… our marriage has hit a new level… a new stratosphere! I was soooo impressed. Well actually, he had me in stitches laughing as he pranced around Kimbriki….

Backyard fire pit

Backyard fire pit

Step 1: Go to local recycling plant and pick up some bricks

Brick from local recycling tip

Bricks from local recycling tip

Step 2: Mark out the size of your backyard fire pit and take off top layer of grass

Mark out your fire pit and take off grass

Mark out your fire pit and take off grass

Step 3: Place bricks around the edge

Place bricks around the edge

Place bricks around the edge

Step 4: Light your fire, have a barbecue along with some marshmellows and enjoy

Backyard fire pit

Backyard fire pit

Backyard fire pit

Backyard fire pit

Backyard fire pit

Backyard fire pit

Backyard fire pit

Backyard fire pit

26 thoughts on “How to make your own Backyard Fire Pit for $4

  1. what a wonderful idea.. and so much fun gathering together around the fire.
    When I read the title of the blog in the email, I thought you were pitfiring ceramics.
    I think it could be used for that purpose also. Did I share the article from daily ceramics where they acually fired ceramics on a coalpot bbq? Cool.

    • Hi Sherill
      Yes, lots of fun. It was my oldest son’s birthday to which was nice.
      Hey, great idea about pitfiring. I am so in the habbit of getting my pieces fired down at my local ceramics store and thinking it was always too hard to fire myself. No, I haven’t seen the article about firing ceramics on a coalpot bbq. Would love to see it. Definately food for thought! Also received another comment tonight as well suggesting I build my own kiln. It would be amazing to learn how to fire pots myself.
      Row

    • “our marriage has hit a new level… a new stratosphere!” – hilarious and that JUST by creating a fire pit! This is a marriage made in HEAVEN. But… great job!!

      • yeah, it is funny in a kinda pathetic way. I am very easy to please, but I’ve had to lower my handyman expectations from my rather adorable husband. But he is more adorable if he holds a hammer or a shovel or anything for that matter from the garage. Do you think these ‘computer guys’ will ever realise this….I don’t think so.
        Row

    • Hi, yes, these ‘computer guys’ could do really well with ‘the wife’ if they held the odd hammer, sander or any tool for that matter! Until this happens I’m the one holding all the tools.
      Row

      • Lol it would be a case of which way is up with mine and anything DIY like. Im lucky enough to still call my Daddy in, who quiet likes being in the know.
        Our men have there uses though that’s why we love them. 🙂
        Sx

  2. I would have loved to have seen your husband ‘prance’.
    What I would like to know is if you were still project managing the whole process? Choosing the bricks, the location, the diameter or the pit??? Hmmm? were you, were you …… ????

    • Yes I did, BUT there was a lot to project manage…someone had to… cause we also had to schedule the morning coffee/cake along with all the other project tasks! Lucky I have my Prince2 project management certification.

  3. Hey, next to my pottery, I’m also one of those ‘computer guys’. I loved your comments. It makes me thing about my wife … It must have been fun, with the family around the fire pit. Great idea !

  4. Row, this looks fantastic. Over here, couples spend far too much $$ on impressing their friends w/ expensive store-bought fire bowls (copper, cast iron or heavy duty ceramic). But this version works just as well and has much better economics!! Great job to the hubby!

    • Hi, thanks for leaving your lovely comment. Yes, I did look at those copper and cast iron ones etc and learnt very quickly how expensive they are. Not an option for us, but that’s ok cause you learn to improvise hey? We have held pit fire nights many times now…lots of fun and one effective way for the kids to want to hang out with us old farts!
      Row

      • Sure sounds like it! He is very much a hands-on, make it yourself person. Right now there’s a lot of woodworking going on (the latest piece being a huge bookcase) but I know he’s been talking about a fire pit.

Leave a Reply

