The ‘Closet Potter’

I am very excited to discover a very talented ‘Closet Potter’ – Sherill. I started liaising with Sherill via a number of comments she left on my blog. I could tell from her comments that she was also a ‘clay nut’ like me but I noticed that she didn’t have a blog or any online site where she could point me to her work. Funny girl…she admitted to being a ‘Closet Potter’ as she has never shared her work with anyone outside of her family and friends. So after an email exchange I convinced her to send me some photos of her creations.  I am now pleading with her to start her own online space to share more broadly, so I will let you know when this occurs.

Sherill has kindly given me permission to share these images of her work. I am smitten with her beautiful sculptures!

Thanks Sherill for taking your first step out of the ‘Potter’s Closet’!

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture torso by Sherill

Sculpture torso by Sherill

 

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture by Sherill

Sculpture - buddha head relief - Sherill calls "her" - Bollywood Buddha

Sculpture – buddha head relief – Sherill calls “her” – Bollywood Buddha

Sculpture by Sherill - Buddha head relief with paper clay

Sculpture by Sherill – Buddha head relief with paper clay

Sculpture torso by Sherill

Sculpture torso by Sherill

7 thoughts on “The ‘Closet Potter’

  1. Please tell her that someone in Texas (that be me) thinks her work is wonderful. Also pass on the artist James Tisdale for her to look up. I just saw a good spread on his work at Red Clay Lodge. Sherill’s work is very creative and excellent in quality. James Tisdale is head of the clay department at the museum where I am studying. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Thanks Rowena for getting me out of my closet/turtle shell. Goodness that’s funny… shell is almost spelt like sherill?? Weird. After 15 months of playing and claying… time has come to share outside family/friends.
    @ “bbd3” – I will certainly look up James Tisdale, I hadn’t bumped into him yet.
    Thanks again Rowena for your encouragement. Much appreciated.

  3. I am a fan of Matisse and a number of these pieces remind me of his work. Very creative and unique with wonderful craftsmanship.

    • Oh wow… Blush Blush. thanks Simone, I love Matisse too… You made my DAY!!! Very encouraging comment. What a beautiful week. First Rowena who “kicked” me out of the “closet”, it doesn’t get any better than this (BIG SMILE)

Leave a Reply

