Rustic slab mugs

When i first saw my mugs from the kiln, I thought how ugly! But now they are growing on me. Lucky I like the rustic look.  Made these from a slab of BRT clay.

The steps I used:

Roll slab of clay > using a rolling pin, press plastic lace into slab and remove to create the pattern > roll slab into cylinder > add base > shape > add handle > dry > 1st firing > apply glaze > rubb back on the surface > 2nd firing.

Do you love the box they are sitting on? I do.  I found it on the side of the road.  Just needed a light sanding. Hey, what ya know…it’s rustic toooo!

handmade mugs from slab of clay

Leave a Reply

